breath i

exhale
the thoughts rush in like a flood breaking waters on a poorly built dam
overflowing the mind with words that have no meaning except the ones I give
what do you think I should do with the rest of my life or today
I have to be productive with this very moment sitting still doing nothing with my hands
as my back aches from lifting more weight that this body was designed for
inhale
running out of oxygen the body screams, fuck you! you must breathe
I can’t believe you held it in that long
what do you take me for? some kind of machine to do your bidding?
feed me you ungrateful degenerate unkind mother fucker!
I’m tired of running your errands I just want to sleep
deep enough to keep the thoughts at bay for one more day to say
I rested like the lord on the seventh moon that arose to greet the sun
in full bloom of the rose in gloom as it senses the smell of doom
cut short to please a being who loves the emotional swell of desire
who does not love to be desired?
I am tired of people liking me I scream and shout publicly
lying to myself in the mirror
you are the best looking woman I have ever seen
since the day I turned seventeen filled with hormones rushing in
expanding thoughts of possibilities
seeing everything that could ever be before it happens to me
on the backs of the giants who paved the way for me to be supreme
exhale
as the thoughts rush in

Leave a Reply

